BOOK REVIEWS & READER PICTURES

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This is a selection of reviews from Amazon, Emails, Google, Facebook and Good Reads. The pictures are not related to these specific reviews, they have been sent from a range of kind readers. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

8f041772-7133-4dec-ace8-7d9c2667d09e_edi

Alex Jones

Extraordinarily unique Thriller

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 December 2020

The Secret of The Crying Minds by A.L Berggren is quite possibly the most unique and intriguing book I’ve come across in recent times - a true hybrid genres.
Part of an upcoming series. The first half of this first book introduces the reader to both the Protagonist in Roze and Antagonist in Hydra. The opening 200 pages are character driven as A.L Berggren crafts her characters through a number of years detailing how they have become who they are.
The 2nd Half of the book really ramps up the storytelling as the crime elements begins to take over and A.L Berggren handles the transition from almost a character led to plot led story very well.
With an enchanting hero in Roze and one of the most twisted villains I’ve read in the despicable Hydra, Berggren has allowed her imagination to run wild in this vibrant and vividly written thriller that could gather something of a cult following.
It’s Fresh and modern but also with dark themes including abuse and slavery that can be disturbing but this feels like a book that could be targeted at a young adult reader but also the most avid of crime reader.
I’m intrigued to read more of this quite compelling and extraordinary story.

64209128-2e3f-419d-a878-62243ba532bc.jpg

Leah Moyse

Definitely worth reading - Couldn't put it down!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 November 2020

I cannot recommend this book highly enough and my review below may make this book seem complicated and ridiculously deep (the themes I took from the crying minds) but this book is a very easy flowing read that will engage readers of any genre. YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!
Wow, just wow! Many like me, may have exhausted their bookshelves during lockdowns but A.L.Berggren has managed to bring a new and captivating psychological thriller to the table. Although classed as a psychological thriller, this book encompasses so many more genres; sci-fi, crime, coming of age etc. No reader will be left disappointed (apart from maybe having to wait for the next books!)
What may seem like a comfortable read with a slow start actually provides the background to a compelling comparison between the impact of how a nurturing and loving upbringing can significantly alter a child’s future hidden within an enthralling novel. This poignant contrast between two childhoods even manages to give the reader, not just a depth of understanding but a degree of sympathy towards the antagonist despite some explicit scenes that truly show his depraved and distorted view on reality. The antagonist’s thought process is carefully written to detail the slow progression to becoming psychopathic with the reactions of negligent adults during significant childhood events, rather than alleviating his troubled mind, essentially solidifying and manifesting his vexed thoughts to create the unfeeling fiend that becomes the villain. With the world currently fascinated by serial killers and real life crime (thank you Netflix), the author has meticulously presented the slow progression from innocent child to the kind of twisted individuals on these programmes, answering not just the question of ‘what they did’ but ‘why?’

As the book progresses, you truly get caught up in the ride. The well thought out storyline gives just enough elegant links and twists to keep the reader hooked alongside Roze’s fascinating development. Roze growing up encounters similar hardships, anger, frustration and questions to the antagonist but by having caring people in her life, she can rationalise and process these emotions to remain pure of heart. Also showing that a traditional nuclear family is irrelevant on children’s upbringings when love is involved.

A.L.Berggren has perfected that fine line of story versus character development as well as connecting enough elements to satisfy curiosity on finishing the first book yet leave the reader hungering for the next instalment. It is truly a book that will have you pondering for weeks and trying to predict where the next chapter will take you. And I can seriously not wait for the next one!!!!

3E1D35AC-6A05-4DB2-9E38-FD5A1EA41F5E.jpg

Markus Jennemyr

Gripping, thrilling & enticing!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2020

I have not read a proper paperback in years, mostly listened to audiobooks, but I am glad I read this one! Dark, scary, exciting and written in an enticing way unfolding the story with twists and turns leaving the reader wanting more.

It is a bit slow to start with building up the two main characters however it is important for the rest of the story. I can't wait to get my hands on book #2 and I look forward to seeing this on Netflix or HBO in the future. They would be foolish if they don't scoop-up the rights to this series, it's a winner!

IMG_6785_edited.jpg

Laura Brooks

A twisting, turning, hypnotising tale.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2020

This psychological tale uses the passing of time to pull readers into the ever-evolving psyches of the characters. Pace gathers in the second half of the book, by which time the narrative has laid the foundations for the characters and the plot-line. The ending ties up the plot-line whilst subtly posing unanswered questions, leaving you wanting the second instalment sooner rather than later.

IMG_2212_edited.jpg

Harriet Hughes

Roedd y llyfr hwn yn bendigedig!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 June 2020

This was absolutely gripping. I was hooked from start to finish. Incredible plot and fascinating characters. Although the antagonist is disturbing, I still couldn’t put the book down. I can NOT wait for the next novel in the series!!! Absolutely brilliant.

IMG_6163_edited.jpg

Helen Green

Brilliant and captivating read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 June 2020

So this is a first! Actually knowing the author of a book! Obviously, as a dutiful friend, I bought the book and began reading after all my friend deserved that! I'm an avid reader but knowing the author made me feel a little apprehensive! With so many what if’s! But wow I had no reason to be worried! The book had me hooked from the start! I’m a fast reader but purposefully slowed down the last few chapters as I didn’t want it to end. The character detail is spot on and really allows you to enter their view of the world and how they’re processing And developing as the story line progresses. The story line is fresh and has enough twists and turns to keep you reading and wanting more! I definitely can not wait to read the next in the series. Now the big question is .... when’s the next one being released !!!

IMG_2933_edited.jpg

Sarah

Couldn't put down this intense debut novel

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 October 2020

This book was frustrating in the best possible way...it got you so hooked and desperate to find out what was going to happen next that it was very hard to resist jumping ahead to find out the ending!! A very clever, heart pounding, tense, psychological thriller, with some great twists, and characters you care about, I cant wait to read the next book..!!

IMG_4931.JPG

Mrs C

 Dark, gripping - a great psychological thriller

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 December 2020

As a debut, this book is well worth the read. It is a dark, twisting story that follows the two main characters Hydra and Roze which to begin with are described in detail before the story unfolds. Disturbing at times it stays with you, and I can’t wait to read the next book which is already on order!

IMG_2535_edited.jpg

Hélène

En bok som sticker ut i sin genre!

Reviewed in Sweden on 24 November 2020

Fantastiskt spännande thriller med intressanta karaktärer och kontraster som gör denna bok riktigt beroendeframkallande! Väntar nu ivrigt på uppföljaren, som förhoppningsvis kommer nu i december!

IMG_6184_edited.jpg

JF

Great read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 June 2020
Really exciting and unusual storyline. Love the twists and turns and surprising interweaving of characters.

DF5E0056-FB7F-4E4B-B6A3-315E66567830_edi

Björn

5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop reading

Reviewed in the United States on 13 August 2020

It was hard to stop reading once I had started on the book. Was keen to learn more and understand the two main characters. Interesting that the author spent so much time to describe the villain, makes then plot so much more interesting. Really looking forward to the release of the second book in the series!

IMG_6784_edited.jpg

Jenny Baily

A psychological thriller and a captivating read, couldn't put this book down!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 June 2020

There are so many things I love about this book; the plot, the characters, the unfolding story with its twists, the backstory allowing you to understand the emotional turbulence, the way it grips you on a journey of investigation and intrigue, giving you just enough respite before sending you on another whirlwind.
It's true I couldn't put this book down and I know I'll be reading the complete series in the future.

IMG_2384.JPG

Charles Albert

Missa inte denna innovativa och otroligt spännande bok!

Reviewed in Sweden on 29 November 2020

Unik bok i sin genre som aldrig tappar fart. Otrolig variation i såväl karaktärernas personligheter som deras berättelse, bakgrund och agenda. En bok som är svår att lägga ifrån sig och som väcker en enorm nyfikenhet och starka känslor för såväl det onda som det goda. Boken är lättläst, trots att jag inte normalt läser böcker på engelska. Kan varmt rekommenderas!

7fc9b352-7cf6-428f-ac5f-f7ab47c5328f_edi

Berry Mum

A thrilling and gripping read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 June 2020

I could not put this down! I read the whole book in a day. Completely addictive and intriguing. Fascinating characters and a thrilling plot. I was absolutely hooked. Can’t wait for the second book in the series!

17952396229337484_edited.jpg

Ekaterina Crawford

5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting plot

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 June 2020

An interesting plot and very menacing antagonist. Loved to follow his back story to understand what made him what he has become. Will be looking for further books in the series.

IMG_3554_edited.jpg

Lotta Trygg

A great debut by A.L. Berggren! Gripping to the end.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 July 2020

What a great debut book! This should be on everyone’s holiday reading list, weather it's at home or abroad, this year. It was dark but hopeful, vivid and loving in it's description of the many cultures that Roze experiences during her upbringing and extremely readable! I couldn't put it down and I can't wait for the next book in the series! 5 stars!

IMG_2266_edited_edited.jpg

Eva

Gripping to the end

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2020

From the first page, this is a gripping thriller which was a real page turner. The characters are all fantastically portrayed and leaves you wanting to know more. I loved it and look forward to reading the next book in the series. Well done Louise!

506dfce3-9f0a-4fb7-b3ce-afc52ca0ae58_edi

Kerry Crombie

Disturbing yet gripping, this psychological thriller keeps you engaged from the start!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 August 2020

This book had me hooked from page 1 with its complex characters and intense storyline. An increase in pace halfway through keeps you alert and, mixed with the twists and character development, leaves you thirsty for the second instalment - can’t wait!

IMG_2261_edited.jpg

Maggie Welander

A must read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 November 2020

I absolutely loved this book, and I just can’t wait to read the following books in this series! The very interesting characters & the thrilling story made it real hard for me to put the book down once I started reading! It looks like the book also appeals to the younger generation, as my 17 year old daughter loved it as much as I did!

IMG_2621_edited.jpg

Anna Bradshaw

A thrilling Scandi noire with a British twist - a must read!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 November 2020

A fantastic book form a new author! The plots twists and turns and keeps you engaged right to the end, and then you want more !!! Can’t wait for the next book to come out. This is Scandi Noire with a British twist. A perfect Christmas present for any thriller loving reader.

IMG_6162_edited.jpg

Mrs Gwillies

Absolutely gripping! Favourite read of 2020 so far

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 June 2020

Verified Purchase

Exciting, exhilarating, shocking and compelling! From page one, I was completely hooked. A weaving story taking you through darkness and light, intrigue and mystery. Brilliantly written. Can't wait for book two!

IMG_6006_edited.jpg

Daniel Johansson

Brilliant! Intriguing read!!! Have ordered x10 for gifts!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 November 2020

Loved the thriller, its a real page turner from the start and I cannot wait for the next book.

17872016038750417_edited.jpg

Helen Green 

Wowzers what a fantastic continuation in the Crying Minds series!

After finishing the secrets of the crying mind I was left with lots of unanswered questions and thoughts of where this storyline was going! This book has not disappointed in delivering these answers and the plot twists have been fantastic! You truly feel immersed in the crying minds world with continued character building and plot twists as the story unfolds! 

The only downside is that I have to wait until the next book is released to see what happens next in the Crying Minds! And get those all important unanswered questions from this book answered! I cannot wait to see what to see where the story line goes next!

IMG_6051_edited.jpg

JF

5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 December 2020
I was waiting for the 2nd instalment. The cliff hanger at the end of book1 had left me on the edge of my seat. This did not disappoint. The underlying themes are intelligently developed and the character development is fascinating. Constant twists and turns were gripping and the cliff hanger has once again left me eagerly anticipating volume 3.

 

WHAT DID YOU THINK ABOUT THE BOOKS?

All feedback welcome on how I can improve as a story teller.
Please add your book review here:

Kindly email any reader pictures to storyteller@alberggren.com to be published

Would you recommend these books to your friends?

Thanks for submitting!